Unique Story-Driven Path To Income Diversification - Part Three

Even More On How To Use Your Story To Transform Risk Into Resilience

Welcome to part 3 of the Corey Story Blueprint.

Last week, in part two, we worked on our introduction. We wrote about our transformation and did a personal inventory of our topics, interests, and skills that helped us achieve it.

Today, we’re diving a little deeper.

We’re talking about personal philosophy and how one lives one's best life.

Before we start writing, let’s make sure we have a crystal clear understanding of what it means to have your own philosophy.

Let’s Define Philosophy

First, I looked up the definition:

Ok, but the definition still feels somewhat abstract (for this exercise anyway).

So, I turned to my new favorite AI tool, Perplexity.ai.

Here is what I asked…

“Describe what it means to have my own philosophy.”

Here’s the answer it gave me…

Now that helps.

It is very clear and way more instructive than “a particular system of philosophical thought.”

So, let’s keep that in mind as we write our stories.

Quick side note: 

A one of the reasons I love Perplexity is that it lists the sources it used to compile the answer:

1) It helps me trust it some more since I know it's from a human and not just making shit up (aka hallucinating, as they call it in the LLM biz).

2) It gives me the warm fuzzies knowing that the original source is getting credit for their work rather than just scraping it.

Speaking as a 15-year search engine marketing veteran, this is where the future of search is heading.

Ok, back to the story…

The Corey Story Blueprint Continued

Here’s where we are on the Blueprint outline so far.

  • Introduction

    • Where did you start the transformation?

    • What was the climax of your journey?

    • What did you achieve that is desirable to others?

    • What topics, interests, or skills helped get you there?

  • Section 1: My Philosophy (Answers the question: How does one live their best life?)

    • Describe your ideal future and lifestyle in detail. What goals are you leading your followers toward?

    • Describe the enemy. What is the future and lifestyle you want to avoid, like the plague?

    • What are beliefs you have that others would find extremely offensive?

    • What is the importance of each topic, interest, or skill you've learned to help you on the way toward your ideal lifestyle?

  • Section 2: Education

    • Coming soon

    • Coming soon

  • Section 3: Practice

    • Coming soon

I planned on doing all four questions in this section this week, but as I wrote, each answer started getting REALLY long.

I didn’t want to overload you with information.

Plus, it started feeling like I was rushing and not giving each question the amount of thought it deserved.

Here’s what I came up with for the first two questions…

Section 1: My Philosophy

The purpose of section 1 is to answer the question: How does one live their best life?

Here are my answers…

Describe your ideal future and lifestyle in detail. What goals are you leading your followers toward?

I want a future where I have the freedom to create a life that I like so much that I never want to retire. I also want to remain relevant and do meaningful work until I can’t.

Honestly, my ideal future and lifestyle are not much different from what I have now.

Here’s why;

I can work when I want.

I can choose how fast or slow my days go because my schedule is flexible.

I don't have to commute or stick to someone else’s schedule, which saves hours and reduces stress. No more rushing around town to work out or take my kids somewhere after work.

I can also be more flexible with my friends and family and do activities on weekdays when it's less crowded.

I can work from wherever I want.

I work from my home 95% of the time, but I can work anywhere with electricity and an internet connection if we decide to travel.

I have multiple income streams and am not reliant on one job.

It’s crazy to me that people still think it's risky to be self-employed.

Which is riskier: relying on a single paycheck from one job, or having multiple paychecks from different clients, side projects, partnerships, affiliate income, and more?

Plus, the new skills and experiences I’m free to gain along the way are like valuable assets that grow over time. I become more adaptable because I can change direction if necessary.

I have control over what I work on.

I can work on different projects and learn new things. Some days, I write in the mornings, then do client work, and maybe spend the afternoon reading or taking a course. Or maybe the reverse of that.

I have more control over who I work with.

Nowadays, I have the freedom to choose who I work with most of the time, which is a big deal.

I used to hate dealing with office politics and being forced to work with crappy people who treated me poorly or had a bad attitude.

Sure, in the beginning, I had to take on projects and clients that weren't a good fit because I needed money and experience. But at least there was light at the end of the tunnel.

Now, I can make my own decisions and avoid working with people I don't want to. I am now more selective and get to meet interesting new people who share my interests.

I can continue to work towards a more ideal future.

If there were anything that could make the future more ideal, it would be adding more meaning to what I do and doing it in the most authentic way possible.

I’ve realized over the past few years that that involves creating success stories by helping other people achieve their ideal future and lifestyle. And I want to do it in the most authentic way possible.

I feel like I am barely scratching the surface. I aim to combine my natural tendency to create (with music and writing) with more marketable, future-proof skills.

The bottom line is that the world needs more success stories. And with technology, we're going to need a lot more authenticity. The more authentic, successful people doing the same equals a better future and lifestyle for all of us.

I can maintain an attitude of gratitude.

Overall, it’s just awesome being able to call the shots. If I’m still able to do that in 20 years, then that’s a pretty damn good future.

Having freedom and flexibility means my lifestyle can adapt however I want or need it to adapt.

Describe the enemy. What is the future and lifestyle you want to avoid, like the plague?

The moment it became clear to me that I didn't have to wait until I was 65 to do what I enjoyed and make money online, my mindset changed completely.

And, there was no turning back.

It’s a lot like the “blue pill or red pill” scene in The Matrix…

Once I swallowed the red pill, doing anything else, other than working for myself feels like a huge failure.

So, as far as the future and lifestyle, I want to avoid it at all costs; I cannot think of anything that scares the hell out of me more than having to going back to a traditional 9-5 job.

Seriously!

The thought of it literally gives me anxiety.

Traditional employment is the enemy in my world.

And there are a few honorable mentions I could add to a not-so-ideal future and lifestyle.

Days filled with politics, rework, redundancy, regulation, and putting me in a position to have to beg for something from someone else scares the hell out of me too.

To be continued…

Up Next

Next week, we’re going to work on the next parts of the philosophy section.

Here is the outline for that section…

  • Introduction

    • Where did you start the transformation?

    • What was the climax of your journey?

    • What did you achieve that is desirable to others?

    • What topics, interests, or skills helped get you there?

  • Section 1: My Philosophy (Answers the question: How does one live their best life?)

    • Describe your ideal future and lifestyle in detail. What goals are you leading your followers toward?

    • Describe the enemy. What is the future and lifestyle you want to avoid, like the plague?

    • What are beliefs you have that others would find extremely offensive?

    • What is the importance of each topic, interest, or skill you've learned to help you on the way toward your ideal lifestyle?

  • Section 2: Education

    • Coming Soon

  • Section 3: Practice

    • Coming soon

Keep Going

If you’re playing along, keep going.

And feel free to reply to this email and show me what you have. I would love to compare notes.

And if you haven’t already, go back to part 1 and…

  1. Pick a transformation - Think of the most valuable, in-demand, future-proof transition that you can share to help others and start there.

  2. Start writing - Fire up a Word document and answer the questions in the introduction.

Start answering the questions, and the stuff will roll off your fingertips.

Before you know it, you’ll have enough raw material to start making money from your skills and experiences.

What'd you think of today's email?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Subscribe to keep reading

This content is free, but you must be subscribed to Redefining Retirement to continue reading.

Already a subscriber?Sign In.Not now

Join the conversation

or to participate.